past events 2


Generally speaking, conferences and seminars, symposiums and lectures are meant to create awareness of the activities of a particular organization and to expose her achievement to the outer world. The Centre of Satellite Technology Development (CSTD) being one of the activity Centre of NASRDA as an agency has organized several conferences since her inception/establishment, the first conference organized by the Centre was tagged; 1st CSTD-NASRDA NATIONAL CONFERENCE, 2007. This conference was seen as a highly successful one, the focus was on the mobilization of Nigerian Universities for Collaborative Research in Satellite Technology.


Consequently, three more Conference/Annual Weeks of the Centre were organized in the year 2011, precisely on the 7th to 9th of June, the annual event came up with a theme; Reaping the benefits of space via small satellites. In the year 2012, it was basically an exhibition of satellite parts where researchers, institutions and media of mass communication were invited from within for broadcast.

This was a 4-day event with the theme “Reaping the benefit of Space Via Small Satellites. It started with an essay competition with the theme in which four secondary school within the FCT competed and prizes were awarded to all the participants.


Charles Mbanefo Distinguished Lecture

The centre in collaboration with the Nigerian Society of Engineers, Abuja branch organized a distinguished lecture in honour of one of the pioneering chairman, Charles Mbanefo on 16th June 2011. The theme for the lecture was “ The Role of Micro Advanced Manufacturing Technique for Space application delivered by Prof Bernard Hun.


End of Year Staff Party

The Centre organized its annual end of year party on the 9th December 2011, and was held at Chida Hotel for all the members of staff, to show appreciation for a successful year and build staff morale and camaraderie. Staff attended with their spouses and children as well. Awards were given to outstanding staff, and shown below;

Most Dedicated Administrator Award – Daramola Opemipo Oluwatimilehin

Innovation Award – Engr Henry Akuma

Most distinguished Engineer Award – Umar Mohammed Mustafa

Most Dedicated Engineer Award – Engr Aiyeola Sikiru Yommy

Most Distinguished Administrator Award – Eromonsle Monday Idebaneira